Of all the Canary Islands, El Hierro is a paradise to discover. This seventh island has always remained outside the tourist current, to the great joy of those who want and need to preserve it as it is. In addition, in 2000, the island was declared a WORLD BIOSPHERE RESERVE by UNESCO.

geoparque el hierro

 -----> Arte video  : "El Hierro, le secret des Canaries"

 

El Hierro is the smallest island in the Canary Islands and is located in the southwest of the archipelago. Its 478km2 offers a variety of landscapes: from arid and volcanic formations in the south and west, to the fertile Gulf Valley in the northwest of the vineyards and plantations, to the dense pine and laurel forest in the central area of the island.

 

image el hierro (2)

 

 

The coasts of El Hierro are made up of inaccessible and very steep rocky cliffs with a height of up to 1000 metres, coves and natural pools. "Los Archos", "Charco Azul" or "Tacoròn" are just a few of them where the tranquility of a swim in clear water is a privileged moment of relaxation.

 

triophoto

 

 

 

On the plateau at the top of the island are fields lined with small volcanic stone walls where sheep and goats feed on herbs, mosses and cactus plants.

duophotobis

 

 

 

On the El Pinar side ("the pine"), the village is surrounded by a gigantic forest of giant pines whose needles strewn ground is used by farmers as animal bedding, thus using an inexhaustible and ecological resource and limiting the spread of possible fires.

The Canary Islands are called "the islands of eternal spring" because they offer a mild and pleasant climate all year round (from 20°C in winter to 28°C in summer) with the presence of alizes and Saharan winds, thus allowing the presence of sub-tropical vegetation. Prickly pear trees, almond trees, banana trees, mango trees and cultivated or wild vineyards grow in abundance.

The weather in El Hierro is moderate all year round. On the coast, the temperature varies from 19°C to 30°C with a light breeze most of the year... The higher you go, the cooler the air gets, a small jacket is required. The nights are generally cool and clear, with very little light pollution, so the stars are spectacular (there is an observatory on the island). The water temperature is 19°C in winter and up to 25°C in summer. La Restinga is the most deserted part of El Hierro and its surroundings contrast sharply with the rest of the island. The vast majority of days are sunny with temperatures around 25°C.

image bascos

image P1030497 ecomuseo gallery

image P1010255 gallery el hierro elpinar

 

 

A little history....

We do not know for sure what the origin of El Hierro's name is, but we believe that it could be a derivation of the island's ancient canary language. The word refers to the island as "Hero" or "Esero". The Spanish name of the metal "hierro", i. e. "iron", apparently has nothing to do with it.

From the second century A.D. onwards, Ptolemy considered the "Meridian Zero" as the one who crossed the western tip of the island, at the Orchilla lighthouse. It remained so until 1883, when the Greenwich meridian was discovered. That is why the island of El Hierro is still known as "the island of the meridian", which translates into "Meridiano Cero"...

 

 

 

el hierro eoliennes            

Since June 2014, 5 wind turbines installed in the northwest of the island have ensured, in addition to a set of seawater retention basins, the energy independence of this small rock of less than 300 square kilometres. 365 days a year, the 10,000 inhabitants of El Hierro are supplied with green electricity via this innovative hydro-wind turbine power plant.

Since the end of 2014, El Hierro has been the first green island in the world, totally autonomous in terms of electricity.

 

 

 

 

LINKS:

El Hierro tourism Office

Canaries Toursim Office

El Hierro : UNESCO World Biosphere

El Hierro : 1st energetic autonomous island

Geoparque El Hierro

De toutes les îles des Canaries, El Hierro est un paradis à découvrir. Cette septième île est toujours restée en dehors du courant touristique, à la grande joie de ceux qui veulent et ont besoin de la préserver telle qu'elle est. En outre, en 2000, l'île a été déclarée RESERVE MONDIALE DE LA BIOSPHERE par l'UNESCO.

 

geoparque el hierro

 

 -----> Une vidéo sur ARTE : "El Hierro, le secret des Canaries"

 

El Hierro est la plus petite île des Canaries et est située dans le sud-ouest de l'archipel. Ses 478km2 offrent une variété de paysages : des formations arides et volcanique au Sud et à l'ouest, dans la vallée fertile du golfe au Nord-Ouest des  vignes et des plantations, en passant par la forêt de pins denses et de lauriers dans la zone centrale de l'île. 

 

image el hierro (2)

 

 

Les côtes d'El Hierro sont constituées de falaises rocheuses inaccessibles et très raides avec jusqu'à 1000 mètres de hauteur, de criques et de piscines naturelles. "Los Archos" , "Charco Azul" ou encore "Tacoròn" en sont quelques une où la tranquilité d'une baignade en eau limpide constitue une moment de détente privilégié.

 

 

triophoto

 

 

Sur le plateau au sommet de l'île se trouvent des champs bordés de petits murets de pierres volcaniques où moutons et chèvres se repaissent de fines herbes, de mousses et de plantes cactées.

 

 

duophotobis

 

 

Du côté d'El Pinar ("le pin"), le village est entouré d'une gigantesque forêt de pins géants dont le sol jonché d'aiguilles est utilisé par les paysans en tant que litière pour les animaux, utilisant ainsi une ressource inépuisable et écologique et limitant ainsi la propagation de feux éventuels. 

Les îles Canaries sont appelées "les îles du printemps éternel" car elles proposent un climat doux et agréable tout au long de l'année (de 20°C l'hiver à 28°C l'été) par la présence des alyzées et des vents sahariens, permettant ainsi la présence d'une végétation sub-tropicale. Figuiers de barbaries, amandiers , bananiers, manguiers et vignobles cultivés ou sauvages poussent en abondance.

La météo à El Hierro est modérée tout au long de l'année. Sur la côte, la température varie de 19oC à 30oC avec une légère brise la plus grande partie de l'année.PLus on monte dans les hauteurs, plus l'air se rafraîchit ,une petite veste est de rigueur. Les nuits sont généralement fraîches et claires, avec très peu de pollution lumineuse, de sorte que les étoiles sont spectaculaires (il y a d'ailleurs un observatoire sur l'île). La température de l'eau est de 19°C en hiver et jusqu'à 25°C en été. La Restinga est la partie la plus déserte de El Hierro et ses environs contrastent fortement avec le reste de l'île. La grande majorité des jours sont ensoleillés avec des températures autour de 25oC. 

 

image bascos

image P1030497 ecomuseo gallery

image P1010255 gallery el hierro elpinar

Un peu d'histoire...

On ne sait pas avec certitude quel est l'origine du nom de El Hierro, mais on crois que ça pourrait être une dérivation de l'ancienne langue canari de l'île. Le mot désigne l'île comme le "Hero" ou "Esero”. Le nom espagnol du métal “hierro”, c'est à dire “fer”, n'a apparemment rien à voir.

À partir du deuxième siècle de notre ère, Ptolémée considérait comme le "Meridien Zéro" comme celui qui traverse la pointe ouest de l'île, au phare de la Orchilla. Il est resté ainsi jusqu'à 1883, quand le méridien de Greenwich à été découvert. C'est pour cela que l'île d'El Hierro est encore surnommée "l'île du méridien", qui se traduit en "Meridiano Cero"...

el hierro eoliennes            

Depuis le mois de juin 2014, 5 éoliennes installées dans le nord-ouest de l'île assurent, en complément d'un jeu de bassins de rétention d'eau de mer, l'indépendance énergétique de ce petit rocher de moins de 300 kilomètres carrés. 365 jours par an, les 10 000 habitants de El Hierro sont approvisionnés en électricité verte via cette centrale hydro-éolienne innovante.

Depuis fin 2014, El Hierro est la première île verte au monde, totalement autonome en électricité.

 

 

 

Carte des ROUTES de l'île d'El Hierro : ICI

 

 

 

 

Liens utiles:

Article du PARISIEN 2017

Office du tourisme de El Hierro

Office du tourisme des Canaries

El Hierro : Réserve de la Biosphère de l'UNESCO

El Hierro : Première île du monde autonome en énergie

Geoparque El Hierro

Guide du ROUTARD

Article SUBAQUA 2017